EdTech, Uncategorized

Code-switching made easy

gboard-1-1200x630One pet peeve of mine related to digital communication via chat or SMS has always been how annoying it is to code-switch. As a result of living in a few different places over the years, I have some friends whom I communicate with in French, others Spanish and some in blends and mixtures of either or both. I have English, French and Spanish keyboards installed on my  Android phone, but I always found it so annoying to have to switch keyboards each time I switched between the various Messenger/What’sApp/GChat/SMS conversations I could have going on at any given time. If I wanted to change languages a few times within one message, I’d either have to switch keyboards, or stay in one language and write in the other without the correct accents or characters (God forbid!).

captureThen suddenly, in mid-December, the GBoard suddenly appeared on my phone. It has all kinds of other features, but what stood out to me is that the predictive text feature searches from the dictionaries of all the language you have installed on your phone at the same time. So no toggling between languages; you can simply start typing a word in the language you desire and it will suggest what you’re looking for. It makes code-switching much easier! (If only they’d introduce a Canadian English dictionary, so I don’t have to set the language on my phone to either UK or US English, and manually add the Canadian spellings that don’t fit with either one-by-one into the phone’s dictionary…)

 

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Code-switching made easy

  1. SO awesome!

    Julie Webb MEd, BA, BEd EAP Instructor Dalhousie University CCE ________________________________

    Posted by Julie Webb | February 8, 2017, 2:14 pm
  2. Yes! I need to get this!!

    Posted by Clare | February 11, 2017, 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers