Musings

I’ve been tagged!

There’s a bit of a blog challenge making the rounds on ELT blogs as of late, and recently Tyson Seburn tagged me to participate in this fun, educational twist on the chain letter.

The instructions are as follows:

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger. 
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself. 
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you. 
  4. List 11 bloggers. 
  5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you. 

So here goes: #1 is taken care of (@seburnt!), and #3 can be found below. I’ll hopefully get to #2 in a post in the near future.

But #4 and #5 pose a  bit of a problem for me. In terms of participative, networked, interactive PD in the area of ELT, Twitter is my jam; I have followers and followees and its where I go to to find interesting links, articles, and blog posts, and to chat with other teachers around the globe. This blog, on the other hand, morphed out of  my online teaching portfolio, and has, thus far, been the space for me to jot down the occasional musing, rant or reflection. I don’t have a blogroll or a long list of followers or a lively comments section, and while I have an informal list of ELT blogs I find to be great reads, they seem to be relatively high traffic blogs, many of whose authors have already been “tagged” to participate in this blog challenge already. In other words, I don’t think I can come up with 11 bloggers to pass this challenge on to! I will interpret this as a well-timed PD challenge for 2014: blog more, and connect more within the ELT blogosphere!

Getting to #3, here are Tyson’s questions, and my answers:

You have 5 minutes to rescue one of your blog posts from oblivion. Which do you pick? Why?
I’m quite a practical person, and so I’d probably choose a this post ( Jeopardy with a Technological Twist) as it’s a great in-class activity that can be adapted to a variety of settings and situations, and I’d love to be able to pass it on to other teachers.
How did teaching become (part of) your career?
Teaching’s one of the only jobs I’ve ever done. I started teaching piano and music at age 14 and it was that early teaching experience that I used as resume fodder to talk my way into my first ESL teaching job as an inexperienced 20 year old only halfway through her linguistics degree!
Aside from weather-related impressions, how does Canada come across to you? If you’re Canadian, how do you think we come across to others?
I’m from Atlantic Canada, and I think that people from many parts of the country, and this region in particular, have  a very practical, down-to-earth quality to them. Whether it’s apparent to others, or only palpable to us in contrast to, let’s say, someone from a large American city who perhaps doesn’t display this characteristic, I’m not sure.
What career path could you have easily gone down had teaching not worked out?
Definitely something language-related: translation or interpretation most likely.
What characteristic of your Chinese zodiac animal sounds like you?
I’m a Monkey and this site states that: “Charming and energetic, Monkeys crave fun, activity and stimulation.” I can’t attest to the charming part, but I do indeed crave activity and stimulation. That’s why teaching in general, and especially while living abroad, was so enjoyable: new experiences were a daily occurrence.
What do you do vastly differently now than when you were a new teacher?
Like many native English-speaking teachers, I definitely acquired much of my knowledge of English grammar and the rules to explain it after I started teaching, and so my approach to teaching grammar and writing would be what has most evolved over the years.
What book have you wanted to read but have never gotten around to it?
I’ve never taken a philosophy class and realize this leaves a gaping hole in my general culture, which I  have always planned to remedy in a very rudimentary way by reading Sophie’s World. But years later and the book is still sitting on my shelf.
Out of these options, the best class size is… 1 student, 5 students, 13 students, 24 students, 50+ students.
As a teacher? Or as a learner? A private class in most cases will probably lead to the most learning, but many times a class of 5 could be “easier” to teach than a private, as the students play off each other and generate opportunities for interaction that wouldn’t occur in a one-on-one setting.
Does your middle name have some meaningful significance, if you have one?
My middle name is Jane, after my mom!
You will give a workshop to your colleagues. What would you feel comfortable leading a session on?
These days, probably something related to educational technology in EAP. Though a few weeks ago I gave a session on rubrics that turned out to  be much livelier than I would have ever imagined!
How do you feel about carpeted rooms in your house?
I’m a renter so all I can say is “EW”!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I’ve been tagged!

  1. Great, Jen! So glad to read your answers. No worries about tagging others; you’re right – so many people have already been tagged (me 4x!).

    You know, the answer that piqued my interest the most was the one about which book you want to read. My undegrad was Philosophy, as a matter of fact. When I was in Seoul, I actually came across Sophie’s World, read it and wished it had been around during my degree. Such clarity! Give it a go.

    Posted by Tyson Seburn (@seburnt) | January 3, 2014, 2:29 am
  2. Ha, Ha! Was just about to say that Sophie’s World’s really worth a read, but it looks like Tyson beat me to it 🙂

    Posted by Julie Moore | January 3, 2014, 10:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers